Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Mr. Vinegar and the Frozen Sea by Chris Wardle

For three days we'll be featuring Mr. Chris Wardle and his Tinfish Series for juveniles.   I was so excited to get in on this book series.  The first two books were featured in April.  I feel in love with Mr. Wardle's animal creatures and their antics.  The first two books hooked me and these last three are no different.  Today the feature is book #3...

The animals in the Tinfish Series are all that is left on the earth as the humans have all died off.  Now the animals must face the environmental issues that arise.  It is so cute to see how Mr. Wardle makes these critters cope with the issues that lay in wait in their habitat.  

I'm sure any 2-6th grader would find an animal creature that lives in Daphne Woods and just fall in love with it.  Mr. Wardle has laid out in these last three books a nice page with animal names and descriptions.  The first two books didn't have this and I personally made a listing so I could keep them all straight.  The critters are unique and have their own characteristics.  I fell in love with them.

In this book the animals are trying to figure out the issue of getting fish to the community during the winter as the Sea is frozen.  The author is very creative in the way he relates each enviormental issues that the animal community face to his reader.

You may read a Chapter of Mr. Vinegar and the Frozen Sea here.

About the Tinfish Series
‘The ‘Tinfish’ series of children’s books follows the humorous adventures of Mr. Tinfish the penguin and his friends as they try to cope with the impact of climatic change in their community. A sudden rise in the sea level, desertification, and warming ocean currents are amongst the many problems that the ever-changing climate will bring. Luckily for Mr. Tinfish, the other animals and birds all try to support each other, and Mr. Vinegar the walrus organizes numerous expeditions led by Mr. Choli the cat to help the colony adapt to the changing conditions.

Book One: The lighthouse of Mr. Tinfish
Book Two: Mr. Choli’s River Trip
Book Three: Mr. Vinegar and the Frozen Sea
Book Four: Mrs. Cat-biscuit’s search for the downward land
Book Five: Mr. Ginger and the disappearing fish

About the Author
Chris Wardle holds a bachelor’s degree in physical geography as well as a Master’s degree for water supply in developing countries.

Over the last ten years Chris has travelled extensively in developing countries working on charity projects in poor communities. He has been able to draw on his numerous experiences to inspire his creative works, particularly living for long periods in communities with different cultures in Africa and Asia.

An orphaned kitten in Northern Uganda was the inspiration for Mr. Choli’s character in the Tinfish series. He now lives in the UK with Chris’s family (via a few months with a foster family in France to organise his European passport).

A copy of this book was provided for review by Virtual Book tours


1 comment:

Martha Moloney said...

Just love the Mr. Tinfish series, terrific reading for children and lessons to be learnt for young and old.